Laboratoire d'Excellence
Archimède




 

Archimede project has been selected as a center of excellence ("Laboratoire d’Excellence", LabEx) by the national state program "Investments for the Future" ("Investissements d’Avenir").

The goals of Archimede LabEx are:

  • to strengthen inter-research units and multidisciplinary collaborations,
  • to increase international exchanges,
  • to develop skill transmission and technological transfer,
  • to improve the relationship between research and teaching within the university.

The body of the project is composed of four research units:

  • Center for Theoretical Physics (Centre de Physique Théorique, UMR 7332, CPT),
  • Marseilles Institute of Mathematics (Institut de Mathématiques de Marseille, UMR 7373, I2M),
  • (Laboratoire d’Informatique et Systèmes, UMR 7020, LIS)

and an international conference center:

  • International Center for Mathematical Conferences (Centre International de Rencontres Mathématiques, UMS 822, CIRM)

All together these joint CNRS-University research units include worldwide leading scientists and cover all fields of research in mathematics and computer science in Aix-Marseille University (AMU)

 

Main subject areas and their applications
 


The four research units in the project offer a wide spectrum of disciplinary specialities which in broad terms can be put into four main areas:

  • analysis, modelling, optimization,
  • statistics, signal processing, automated learning,
  • dynamical systems, geometry, probability,
  • algorithms, logic, number theory.

Current research ranges from the most fundamental aspects of the different fields, to interactions with other sciences or industrial partners. Research application areas are:

  • biology, health,
  • security, communication,
  • energy, transport.
 

The scientific project
 


The scientific project of Archimede LabEx is divided into three programs aimed at :

Increasing international exchanges

Archimede LabEx offers a Research in Residence program for visiting scholars (2 weeks to 3 months). This program allows the development of a wide range of research activities (seminars, study groups, workshops), on leading subjects. The program complements the conferences and other activities run by the CIRM.

Developing the dissemination of knowledge, know-how, and technology transfer

Mathematics and computer science provide many of the tools used by other sciences and industry, though these tools are rarely passed on by the researchers themselves. French doctoral students in mathematics and computer science rarely move into other sciences or into the non-academic world. Archimede LabEx remedies this gap in the chain of knowledge by a program of transmission of skills. This innovative program proposes three objectives, organized as three cells :

  • a transfer cell proposes theoretical and applied courses, workshops, etc., for a scientific audience – academic or industrial, for end-users of mathematical and computing techniques (for example in mathematical modelling, numerical analysis, statistics, image/signal processing, cryptography, algorithms),
  • a bridging cell orients doctoral and post-doctoral students towards applied subjects in the socioeconomic sector, in particular with partners working with members of Archimede Labex and the Ecole Centrale de Marseille,
  • a development cell allows the exploitation of algorithms developed as part of members’ research activities, up to certain limits of portability.

Improving the integration of training and research

Training for and through research constitutes one of the areas in which universities excel. Archimede LabEx contributes to an International Doctorate program. In conjunction with the graduate school of mathematics and computer sciences (ED184), this program improves the relationship between training and research by proposing doctoral courses, both generalized and specialist, to complete those on offer within the research masters program and the international master’s program (in preparation). In addition, the program organizes multi-thematic seminars and working groups for doctoral and post-doctoral students, as well as tutorial sessions, along the lines of the model initiated in applied mathematics (Cemracs). These activities are run by leading scientists. Grants for doctoral studies, post-doctoral fellowships, and masters degrees are offered on an international basis. The aim is to create a dynamic around doctoral studies with international visibility.

 

   
 
   


This work has been carried out thanks to the support of the ARCHIMEDE Labex (ANR-11-LABX- 0033) and the A*MIDEX project (ANR-11-IDEX-0001-02) funded by the "Investissements d’Avenir" French government program managed by the ANR.

Laboratoire d'Excellence
Archimède




 

Le projet Archimède a été retenu comme centre d’excellence (« Laboratoire d’excellence », LabEx) par le programme national « Investissements d’Avenir ».

Le LabEx Archimède a pour objectif de :

  • renforcer les collaborations multidisciplinaires entre unités de recherche,
  • augmenter les échanges internationaux,
  • développer des compétences en transmission et transfert de technologies,
  • améliorer les relations entre la recherche et l’enseignement au sein de l’université.

Il est composé de 4 unités de recherche :

et un centre international de conférences :

  • Centre International de Rencontres Mathématiques (CIRM, UMS 822).

Ces unités mixtes de recherche CNRS-Université regroupent des scientifiques reconnus dans le monde et couvrent tous les domaines de recherche en mathématiques et informatique au sein d’Aix-Marseille Université (AMU)

 

Principaux domaines de recherche et leurs applications
 


Les quatre unités de recherche dans le projet offrent un large spectre de spécialités qui concernent les quatre domaines suivants :

  • analyse, modélisation, optimisation,
  • statistique, traitement du signal, apprentissage automatique,
  • systèmes dynamiques, géométrie, probabilités,
  • algorithmique, logique, théorie des nombres.

Les recherches menées actuellement au sein de ces unités vont des aspects théoriques les plus fondamentaux aux interactions avec d’autres domaines scientifiques ou avec des partenaires industriels. Elles s’appliquent notamment aux domaines suivants :

  • biologie, santé,
  • sécurité, communication,
  • énergie, transport.
 

Le projet scientifique
 


Le projet scientifique du LabEx Archimède est divisé en 3 programmes qui visent à :

Augmenter les échanges internationaux

Le LabEx Archimède offre un programme de Recherche en Résidence pour des scientifiques extérieurs (de 2 semaines à 3 mois).
Ce programme permet le développement d’une large gamme d’activités de recherche (séminaires, groupes de travail, colloques) sur des sujets de premier plan. Il complète les conférences et autres activités menées par le CIRM.

Développer la transmission de connaissances, savoir-faire, et transfert de technologie

Les mathématiques et l’informatique fournissent de nombreux outils utilisés par d’autres sciences et par l’industrie, bien qu’ils soient rarement transmis par les chercheurs eux-mêmes.
Les doctorants français en mathématiques et informatique s’orientent rarement vers d’autres domaines scientifiques ou vers le monde non-académique. Le LabEx Archimède y remédie par un programme de transmission des compétences. Ce programme innovant propose trois objectifs, organisés en trois cellules :

  • une cellule de transfert propose des cours théoriques et appliqués, des colloques, etc. à un public scientifique, universitaire ou industriel, pour des utilisateurs de techniques mathématiques et informatiques (par exemple en modélisation mathématique, analyse numérique, statistique, analyse d’image et traitement du signal, cryptographie, algorithmique),
  • une cellule d’orientation guide les doctorants et post-doctorants vers des sujets appliqués dans le monde socio-économique, en particulier avec des partenaires travaillant avec des membres du LabEx Archimède et de l’Ecole Centrale Marseille,
  • une cellule de développement permet l’exploitation des algorithmes développés comme partie intégrante des activités de recherche des membres du LabEx Archimède.

Améliorer les interactions entre formation et recherche

La formation pour et par la recherche constitue un domaine dans lequel les universités excellent. Le LabEx Archimède contribue à un programme doctoral international. En lien avec l’Ecole Doctorale de mathématiques et informatique de Marseille (ED184), ce programme améliore la relation entre formation et recherche en proposant des cours doctoraux à la fois généraux et spécialisés, afin de compléter ceux offerts par les masters de recherche existants et le master international (en préparation). De plus, ce programme organise des séminaires multi-thématiques et des groupes de travail, pour les doctorants et post-doctorants, ainsi que des programmes d’étude, selon le modèle initié en mathématique appliquée (Cemracs). Ces activités sont menées par des scientifiques de renom. Des bourses doctorales, post-doctorales, et de master 2 sont proposées à l’international. Le but est de créer une dynamique autour des études doctorales avec une visibilité internationale.

 

   
 
   


Ce site a été réalisé grâce au LabEx Archimède (ANR-11-LABX-0033) et à la fondation A*MIDEX (ANR-11-IDEX-0001-02), financés par les « Investissements d'Avenir », programme français mené par l'ANR.